2018 Annual Meeting Minutes

December 7, 2018
Lake Wildwood Golf Club

Sue Ilg, President

Vearl La Berge, Janie Quicke, Alma Ortega-Avery, Linda Simpson, Cheryle James, Cyndi Yano, Janie Quicke, Laurel Pruitt, Andrea Cimino, Regina Galano and Kala Swaminathan


Carol Jaques

President Sue Ilg called the meeting to order at 10:33 am

Sue thanked Cyndi Yano and the rest of the Lake Wildwood Golf Club ladies for their wonderful hospitality in creating this event. She also thanked the Food and Beverage Manager, Andi Miller, for her great organizational skills in setting up this event and delicious brunch. The Delegates, Captains, Club Officers, and Members of the Association were welcomed.

Sue introduced herself and the 2018 Board of Directors. She also acknowledged the Past Presidents Judi Phillips and Carol Jaques, and Past Directors Carol Tonge and Mary-Kevin Willey. She also welcomed a special guest from the Women’s Golf Association of Northern California, Pat Zimmerman, who is currently the Treasurer.

She announced that each Delegate has an agenda for today’s meeting. Each Director will give a brief report. When the formal portion of the meeting is over, there will be a break-out session for Treasurers and Handicap Chairs. Directors will be available to answer questions.

The meeting has been convened in accordance with the Bylaws, Article 5, Section 3b Annual Meeting: On the first Friday in December in each year the Delegates shall hold an Annual Meeting at such place and hour as the board shall designate. The purpose of this meeting shall be to consider and act upon the following matters:

  1. The election of Directors for the ensuing year
  2. The consideration of, and action upon any business or matter relating to the Board

Carol Jaques from the San Jose Golf and Country Club, will serve as Parliamentarian for today’s meeting.

Secretary, Cyndi reported that according to the registration check-in that was taken at the registration table, there were 23 clubs in attendance. She declared that the necessary Quorum was present for the purpose of conducting the Association business. A motion was made by Cathy Raycraft of El Macero Country Club and Seconded by Deborah Stein of Lake Wildwood Golf Club to accept the written notice of the quorum and dispense with the roll call for the 2018 Annual Meeting. The motion carried. This is in accordance with Article V, Section 2 of the WNHGA Bylaws.

The minutes of the 2017 Annual Meeting were included in the club folders for this meeting. A motion to approve the minutes was made by Sharyn Pendleton of Twain Harte Golf Club and seconded by Regina Galano of Stonebrae Country Club. The motion carried.

Cheryle James reported that we began this year with changes to our previous billing system and WNHGA dues were waived from club member fees. The same will hold true for 2019. During 2018, she issued the following Gift Certificates for Corena Green Classic for Junior Girls winners, totaling $8,750: Madeline Zunino (University of Nevada – Reno) $1,925; Janica Ha (UOP) $1,525; Sofia Young (Holy Names University) $1,000; Sofia Demski (University of Santa Clara) $550; Ari Samuel (University of West Georgia) $525; Sara Johnson (Cal State Chico) $450; Emily Gosti (UC Berkeley) $300; Zaria Thompson (University of Arizona) $250; Lauren Keane (Cal State SF) $200.

Sue called attention to the contents of the Captains’ Folders. Included in them are the 2018 Annual Meeting Agenda, a list of WNHGA events for 2019, Proposed Board of Directors for 2019, Scheduled Rules Seminars, Updated By-laws and a Pin Order Sheet.

Article 5 Section 3b1 of the WNHGA Bylaws requires that each Director present a report pertaining to her activities during the year. All reports have been filed with the President. Each Director presented her annual report and it is attached to the official minutes.

In accordance with WNHGA Bylaws, Article 6, Sections 1 and 2: The number of directors of this Association shall not be less than nine or more than twelve, until changed by the Board of Directors and approved by the members. At least two directors and no more than three directors, shall be elected from each geographical area. Directors shall be elected at each Annual Meeting of Delegates, to hold office for a term of two years. Each Director shall hold office until the expiration of the terms of which elected, and until a successor has been elected and qualified. A director who has served two consecutive terms may not be nominated or elected for another term as director until two years have passed since last term served. Andrea Cimino headed the nominating committee and she introduced her members and thanked them for their service:

Laurel Pruitt – Central Valley (Turlock Golf and Country Club); Katie Gilchrest – River Valley (Cameron Park Country Club); Lisa King – Peninsula (Almaden Country Club) and Mary Quinn – East Bay (Blackhawk Country Club).

One current director, Sue Ilg, is returning to complete her second term. Two current Directors, Andrea Cimino and Cyndi Yano applied for a second term but later withdrew their applications. One Director who was serving an appointment, Vearl La Berge, applied for a permanent position. This left many openings for the committee to fill. The following ladies applied to be on the board: Judi Phillips (Oakdale Golf and Country Club), Lauren Dummer (Lake of the Pines Country Club), Lee Hicks (Lake of the Pines Country Club), and Joan Cannon (Sequoyah Country Club).

According to Article 6, Section 16g, further nominations for Director must be presented in writing to the Recording Secretary accompanied by the candidate’s written acceptance, and must be signed by 5 Delegates. Such nominations must be in the Secretary’s hand at least five days prior to the Annual Meeting of the Delegates. Cyndi reported that she received three additional applications: Laurel Pruitt (Turlock Golf and Country Club), Beverly Poff (Oakdale Golf and Country Club) and Mary-Kevin Willey (Valley Hi Country Club). 

A motion was made by Bernadette Smith of North Ridge Country Club to accept the list of candidates as presented. There was a second by Lisa Kinoshita of Contra Costa Country Club. The motion carried. Sue welcomed the new Directors to the WNHGA Board.

Sue gave recognition and thanked the Directors who were retiring from the Board: Linda Simpson, Cheryle James, Cyndi Yano, Alma Ortega-Avery, Andrea Cimino, Janie Quicke, Regina Galano, Kala Swaminathan and Advisor Carol Jaques. She thanked all of the Directors for their dedication and support during the year. She also thanked all of the clubs for participating in and supporting WNHGA events. She has enjoyed her year as President and looks forward to seeing all of the members at events next year.

Sue introduced Vearl La Berge, 2019 WNHGA President.

Vearl introduced the new Board members and their assignments: Laurel Pruitt Vice-President, Mary-Kevin Willey Secretary, Judi Phillips Treasurer and Membership, Sue Ilg Rules, Markers and Visits, Joan Cannon Open Days, Lauren Dummer Handicap, Bev Poff Tournament of Champions, and Lee Hicks Team Play.

The meeting adjourned at 11:45am.